The launch of Wetherspoon’s newest venture in Ireland has taken longer than expected. The date for the opening of the Keavan’s Port Hotel, restaurant and bar on Camden Street, Dublin, has been announced and it will be August, 16th.
It was in July 2017 when the company unveiled its plans to spend €15 million on developing a Superpub and hotel in Dublin City Centre. Progress on the development was delayed due to Covid 19 restrictions on construction.
The final cost including acquisition and construction came in over €33 million. It is the single largest investment made by Wetherspoon in its 41-year history.
The site in Camden Street Upper and Lower was derelict for many years. It is comprised of eight Georgian buildings, seven of which are listed, and a former convent. Behind the facade, a new building will face onto Grantham Place at the rear.
The entrance to the hotel will be through the former Little Sisters of the Assumption convent. It has been fully restored with a leaded and stained glass frontage.
Specialist Conservation Work on Georgian Buildings
Conservation and pointing work on the existing brickwork, at the front of the premises, have been carried out along the entire length of the buildings. Specialist contractors and joiners have worked on the installation of the new windows. And the roof has been re-slated, with Welsh Bangor blue slates.
The garden reflects the original individual properties too, designed to evoke the once-linked residential gardens. The history is captured in the stonework, metalwork, reclaimed furniture and sculpture, as well as the commissioned artwork and lanterns. The interior will feature a 12-metre glass atrium.
The main bar area with feature reclaimed stonework, decorative windows and furniture reflecting the history of the buildings. A rear extension to the building has been constructed. While, inside the existing buildings, artisans and specialists have worked on repairing original stairs and replacing those beyond repair.
Replacement of the ceiling coving has been made, while further structural repairs and plastering work have been carried out, to retain the historic aspects of the premises.
The pub offers 9,000 square foot of customer space over two floors plus a 3,800 square foot garden across two enclosed courtyards.
Camden Street Upper and Lower form part of an ancient highway into the city of Dublin. The two streets were previously known as St Kevin’s Port.
In a series of old maps and records, the name is shown as Keavans Port (1673), St Kevan’s Port (1714), Keavan’s Port (1728), St Kevan’s Port (1756) and then St Kevin’s Port, which was renamed in 1778, after the First Earl of Camden.
The name Keavan’s Port/St Kevin’s Port was derived from the Church of St Kevin, in nearby Camden Row, said to have been founded by a follower of the sixth-century hermit.
200 full and part-time staff
A total of 200 full and part-time staff will be employed at the pub and 89-bedroom hotel, The pub will be managed by Filip Mordak, who has worked for Wetherspoon since 2007. He has previously managed two Wetherspoon pubs in the Republic of Ireland, The Forty Foot in Dun Laoghaire and The Silver Penny in Dublin’s Abbey Street.
The Hotel and Pub Opening Times
The 89-bedroom hotel will have a choice of twin, double and family rooms, as well interconnecting rooms for families, all with an en-suite bathroom. There are also four rooms specially-adapted for guests with disabilities, with wet-room facilities.
The pub will be open from 7am until 11pm seven days a week, with food available from 7am to 10.30pm. There will be a central courtyard for outdoor dining.
Keavan’s Port hotel and pub – 1-5 Camden Street Upper and 49-52 Camden Street Lower, Dublin 2